S    T   A    R    R

  Southern Technical Aquatic Resource & Rescue

The National Registry, established in 1970 as a non-profit organization, is the Nation’s Emergency Medical Services Certification organization. The mission of the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians has always been centered on protecting the public and advancing the EMS profession. The National Registry’s mission is to provide a valid, uniform process to assess the knowledge and skills required for competent practice by EMS professionals throughout their careers, and to maintain a registry of certification status.

To better assist EMS professionals maintain their registry certification status, National Registry in a collaborative effort with the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians designed the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP). The National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) was constructed using methodology similar to that of the American Board of Medical Specialties requirements and streamlines the recertification process into three strategic categories of continuing education: National, Local, and Individual. The National Continued Competency Program encourages Nationally Certified EMS personnel to pursue life-long education while also providing state and local agencies the freedom to customize continuing education to meet local operational needs.


The national component of the NCCP constitutes 50% of the total recertification requirements. Topics included in the national reflect current trends in evidence-based medicine, scope of practice changes and position papers from numerous associations involved with EMS research. There is an additional focus on those patient presentations that have a low frequency but high criticality.


The local component constitutes 25% of the total recertification requirements. Specific topic requirements may be defined by your specific state, region or local agency. Examples of local content topics typically include state or local protocols, areas of specalization, or tasks that require additional focus based on QA/QI. The local component allows national recertification requirements to be adapted to the needs of the state and local agencies. If your state, region, or local agency does not specify topics, the content is considered flexible.


The individual constitutes 25% of the recertification requirements. Registrants are free to take any state or CAPCE approved EMS-related education.

National Registry has been diligently working to ensure all recertification training is evidence-, research-based, streamlined, and informative to continue improving patient care with quantitative and qualitative education. In order to do this, National Registry also collaborated with the Commission on Accreditation for Prehospital Continuing Education (CAPCE). CAPCE is an accrediting body charged with the review and accreditation of EMS continuing education (CE). We are not a provider of EMS CE. However, you can use this site to find CAPCE accredited educational providers and CAPCE accredited courses

The NAEMT with National Registry through CAPCE has developed refresher courses that meet or exceed the NCCP requirements. The Paramedic, Advanced EMT, and EMT refreshers are based on various elemental requirements within the NCCP. The high-quality evidence-based curriculum uses course content from the Prehospital Trauma Life Support, Advanced Medical Life Support, Emergency Pediatric Care, Geriatric Education for EMS, and EMS Safety courses.

The Refresher courses require:

     Paramedic Refresher                30 hours

     Advanced EMT Refresher         25 hours

     EMT Refresher                          20 hours